
217B.990   Penalties. 

(1) Any person who violates any of the provisions of this chapter or who fails to 

perform any duties imposed by those sections, or who violates any determination or 

order of the department promulgated pursuant thereto shall be liable to a civil 

penalty of not to exceed the sum of one thousand dollars ($1,000) for said violation, 

and an additional civil penalty of not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for 

each day during which such violation continues, and in addition, may be enjoined 

from continuing such violations as hereinafter provided in this section. Such 

penalties shall be recoverable in an action brought in the name of the 

Commonwealth of Kentucky by the department, or upon the department's request by 

the Attorney General. 

(2) Any person who fails to abate a violation within the time period prescribed by 

administrative regulation for the abatement shall be assessed a civil penalty of not 

less than one hundred dollars ($100). Each day of continuing violation may be 

deemed a separate violation for the purpose of penalty assessment. The 

Commissioner shall develop a method for calculating monetary penalties and shall 

promulgate a schedule of the penalties in an administrative regulation. The penalty 

shall be recoverable in an action brought in the name of the Commonwealth. All 

sums of recovery shall be placed in the State Treasury. A license holder shall have 

thirty (30) days from notification of the penalty assessment to request a hearing. 

(3) It shall be the duty of the department, or upon the request of the Commissioner of 

Agriculture, of the Attorney General to bring an action for the recovery of the 

penalties hereinabove provided for, and to bring an action for an injunction against 

any person violating or threatening to violate any provision of this chapter or 

violating or threatening to violate any order or determination of the department 

promulgated pursuant thereto. In any such action any finding of the department shall 

be prima facie evidence of the fact or facts found therein. 

(4) Any person who shall willfully violate any of the provisions of this chapter or any 

determination or order of the department promulgated pursuant to those sections 

which have become final shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction 

thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor 

more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by imprisonment for a term of not more 

than one (1) year, or by both fine and imprisonment for each separate violation. 

Each day upon which such violation occurs shall constitute a separate violation. 

(5) Any person who violates any of the provisions of KRS 217B.515 to 217B.585 or 

who fails to perform any duties imposed by those sections, or who violates any 

determination or order of the department promulgated pursuant thereto shall be 

liable to a civil penalty of not to exceed the sum of one thousand dollars ($1,000) 

for said violation, and an additional civil penalty of not to exceed one thousand 

dollars ($1,000) for each day during which such violation continues, and in 

addition, may be enjoined from continuing such violations as hereinafter provided 

for in KRS 217B.585. Such penalties shall be recoverable in an action brought in 

the name of the Commonwealth of Kentucky by the department, or upon the 

department's request by the Attorney General. 



(6) Any person who shall willfully violate any of the provisions of KRS 217B.515 to 

217B.585 or any determination or order of the department promulgated pursuant to 

those sections which have become final shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon 

conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars 

($100) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by imprisonment for a term 

of not more than one (1) year or by both fine and imprisonment for each separate 

violation. Each day upon which the violation occurs shall constitute a separate 

violation. 

Effective: July 14, 1992 

History: Amended 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 250, sec. 7, effective July 14, 1992. -- Amended 

1980 Ky. Acts ch. 295, sec. 69, effective July 15, 1980. -- Amended 1978 Ky. Acts 

ch. 81, sec. 19. -- Amended 1976 Ky. Acts ch. 289, sec. 6. -- Amended 1974 Ky. 

Acts ch. 148, sec. 28. -- Created 1972 Ky. Acts ch. 130, sec. 26. 


