
224.50-868    New  tire  fee  --  Disposal  of  replaced  tire  --  Report  to  cabinet  --
Retailer requirements.  

(1) Until June 30, 2014, a person purchasing a new motor vehicle tire in Kentucky
shall pay to the retailer a one dollar ($1) fee at the time of the purchase of that
tire.  A new tire is a tire that has never been placed on a motor vehicle wheel
rim, but it is not a tire placed on a motor vehicle prior to its original retail sale or
a  recapped  tire.  The  term "motor  vehicle"  as  used  in  this  section  shall  mean
"motor vehicle" as defined in KRS 138.450. The fee shall not be subject to the
Kentucky sales tax.

(2) When  a  person  purchases  a  new  motor  vehicle  tire  in  Kentucky  to  replace
another tire, the tire that is replaced becomes a waste tire subject to the waste
tire  program.  The  person  purchasing  the  new  motor  vehicle  tire  shall  be
encouraged by the retailer to leave the waste tire with the retailer or meet the
following requirements:
(a) Dispose of the waste tire in accordance with KRS 224.50-856(1);
(b) Deliver the waste tire to a person registered in accordance with the waste

tire program; or
(c) Reuse  the  waste  tire  for  its  original  intended  purpose  or  an  agricultural

purpose.
(3) A retailer shall report to the Department of Revenue on or before the twentieth

day  of  each  month  the  number  of  new  motor  vehicle  tires  sold  during  the
preceding month and the number of waste tires received from customers that
month.  The  report  shall  be  filed  on  forms  and  contain  information  as  the
Department  of  Revenue  may  require.  The  retailer  shall  remit  with  the  report
ninety-five  percent  (95%)  of  the  fees  collected  for  the  preceding  month  and
may retain a five percent (5%) handling fee.

(4) A retailer shall:
(a) Accept  from the  purchaser  of  a  new tire,  if  offered,  for  each  new motor

vehicle tire sold, a waste tire of similar size and type; and
(b) Post  notice  at  the  place  where  retail  sales  are  made  that  state  law

requires the retailer to accept, if offered, a waste tire for each new motor
vehicle tire sold and that a person purchasing a new motor vehicle tire to
replace another tire shall  comply with subsection (2) of  this section. The
notice shall also include the following wording: "State law requires a new
tire buyer to pay one dollar ($1) for each new tire purchased. The money
is collected and used by the state to oversee the management of  waste
tires,  including  cleaning  up  abandoned  waste  tire  piles  and  preventing
illegal dumping of waste tires."

(5) A retailer  shall  comply with the requirements of  the recordkeeping system for
waste tires established by KRS 224.50-874.

(6) A retailer shall transfer waste tires only to a person who presents a letter from
the cabinet approving the registration issued under KRS 224.50-858 or a copy
of a solid waste disposal facility permit issued by the cabinet, unless the retailer
is  delivering  the  waste  tires  to  a  destination  outside  Kentucky  and  the  waste
tires will remain in the retailer's possession until they reach that destination.

(7) The cabinet shall, in conjunction with the Waste Tire Working Group, develop



the informational fact sheet to be made publicly available on the cabinet's Web
site  and  available  in  print  upon  request.  The  fact  sheet  shall  identify  ways  to
properly  dispose  of  the  waste  tire  and  present  information  on  the  problems
caused by improper waste tire disposal.

Effective:April 11, 2012
History: Amended  2012  Ky.  Acts  ch.  110,  sec.  10,  effective  April  11,  2012.  --

Amended 2011 Ky. Acts ch. 34, sec. 2, effective June 8, 2011. -- Amended 2006
Ky. Acts ch. 165, sec. 1, effective July 12, 2006. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch.
85, sec. 629, effective June 20, 2005. -- Amended 2002 Ky. Acts ch. 46, sec. 1,
effective July 15, 2002. -- Created 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 529, sec. 10, effective July
15, 1998.


