431.523 Bail for nonresidents charged with driving under the influence.

1)

)

Bail for persons who are not residents of Kentucky who are charged with a
violation of KRS 189A.010 shall be five hundred dollars ($500) unless the
defendant was involved in a motor vehicle accident in which property damage
or physical injury to a person was involved in which case bail shall be one
thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500). In the event of serious physical injury
or death the minimum amount of bail shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000).

No court shall release a person charged with a violation of KRS 189A.010 who
is not a resident of Kentucky without the imposition of bail as required by
subsection (1) of this section. Bail in subsection (1) of this section shall be
accepted in the full cash amount only, or with court approved surety for that
amount, and no other form of bail shall be acceptable.

Effective: July 13, 1984

History: Created 1984 Ky. Acts ch. 165, sec. 14, effective July 13, 1984.



