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	SUBJECT/TITLE
	 An Act relating to crimes and punishments


	SPONSOR
	 Rep. Brent Yonts


MANDATE SUMMARY

	Unit of Government:
	X
	City;
	X
	County;
	X
	Urban-County

	
	X
	Charter County
	X
	Consolidated Local
	
	


Program/

	Office(s) Impacted:
	  Local law enforcement


	Requirement:
	X
	Mandatory
	
	Optional


Effect on

	Powers & Duties
	X
	Modifies Existing
	
	Adds New
	
	Eliminates Existing


PURPOSE/MECHANICS  

HB 149 amends KRS 189A.010 to (1) lower from 0.18 to 0.15 the blood or breath alcohol level and (2) specify concentrations of various substances in blood or urine qualifying as an aggravating circumstance in determining the mandatory minimum term of imprisonment for persons convicted of driving a motor vehicle while impaired.
	FISCAL EXPLANATION/BILL PROVISIONS
	ESTIMATED COST


The fiscal impact of HB 149 on local governments is expected to be moderate. Any person convicted of aggravated driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or other named substances is required to be imprisoned a minimum of four days to 240 days, depending on the number of offenses occurring in a five year period. Lowering the alcohol level and specifying concentrations of other substances qualifying as an aggravating factor is expected to increase the number of days of imprisonment for driving a motor vehicle while impaired.
Local governments will be responsible for incarcerating individuals charged with violating the provisions of HB 149. Individuals convicted of an aggravated DUI will be incarcerated in any of Kentucky's 88 local or regional jails, at an average cost of $36.59
 per inmate day, paid for entirely at the local government's expense. Individual jail costs range from $19 to $88.44 per inmate day. 

Persons receiving a fourth or subsequent aggravated DUI conviction are guilty of a Class D felony and are required to spend a minimum of 240 days in prison. Local governments are responsible for the cost of incarcerating individuals who are charged with a Class D felony until the time of conviction and final sentencing. 

Upon sentencing, Class D felons meeting the Kentucky Department of Corrections' requirements for Level I custody can be housed in any one of 74 state approved local or regional jails for the duration of their sentence, with the state reimbursing the local jail for a portion of the incarceration costs. The average cost of housing a state prisoner at one of the facilities is $36.56
 per inmate day, with individual jail costs ranging from $19 to $75.95 per inmate day. The current rate of reimbursement from the state is $30.94 per inmate day.
The increase in the number of cases receiving mandatory jail sentences is expected to be moderate, therefore the costs borne by local governments is expected to be moderate.
	DATA SOURCE(S)
	 Ky Association of Chiefs of Police, Kentucky Department of Corrections; Kentucky Jailers Association; State Auditor's Office
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�Estimate derived from data from the Auditor of Public Accounts. The Auditor's report, Kentucky Jails A Financial Overview, reports the average cost of housing a prisoner as $36.25. This average is aggregated to the facility level. The estimate provided here is a per prisoner average for the state as a whole.


�Estimate derived from data from the Auditor of Public Accounts. The estimate includes only those facilities that have elected to house state prisoners.
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