HB 707 (BR 1049) - C. Belcher
AN ACT relating to commercial driver's licenses.
Amend KRS 281A.160, regarding tests for commercial driver's licenses, to require the Kentucky State Police to retest applicants within three days of a request; require the state police to engage the services of third party testers to meet scheduling deadlines; establish a testing fee of $100 for the knowledge and skills test; allow up to two retests on one application fee.
HB 707 - AMENDMENTS
HFA (1, C. Belcher) - Delete original provisions of the bill and insert the following: amend KRS 281A.160 to clarify waiting periods for retaking a failed written test for a CDL; establish a skills testing fee for CDL applicants; create the State Police CDL skills testing fund; require that the fund be used to contract with and train civilian CDL skills examiners and improve the logistics of the CDL skills testing process; require that applicants provide the proper class of commercial vehicle for the type of CDL they are testing for; require that unless given prior approval by KSP, vehicles for testing must be unloaded; require that upon arrival for a skills test, the applicant must bring a valid Kentucky operator's license, a valid CDL permit, and a DOT physical card; exempt applicants for a CDL with "S" restrictions limited to the operation of buses from the skills testing fee; delete language regarding the ability of the KCTCS to provide third-party testing; delete provisions that allow a third-party tester to provide a vehicle for testing for a fee; clarify that the CDL skills test shall have three parts and that a passing grade of 80 percent be achieved on each section prior to the issuance of a CDL; provide that a passing score on any one section of the CDL skill test be carried forward and that the applicant will not have to take that portion again; provide for retesting procedures and a retesting fee of $50 after an applicant has failed a skills test four times; provide that a missed appointment shall count as a failure for retesting purposes; mandate that the KSP promulgate administrative regulations within 90 days of the effective date of the Act to set forth qualifications for contract examiners.
SCA (1/Title, B. Guthrie) - Make title amendment; declare an EMERGENCY.
Feb 27-introduced in House
Feb 28-to Transportation (H)
Mar 7-posted in committee
Mar 9-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar
Mar 10-2nd reading, to Rules
Mar 15-placed in the Orders of the Day; floor amendment (1) filed
Mar 16-3rd reading, passed 97-0 with floor amendment (1)
Mar 17-received in Senate
Mar 21-to Transportation (S)
Mar 23-taken from committee; 1st reading, to Calendar
Mar 24-2nd reading; returned to Transportation (S)
Apr 10-reported favorably, to Rules with committee amendment (1-title) as a Consent Bill; posted for passage in the Consent Orders of the Day for Monday, April 10, 2006; 3rd reading, passed 38-0 with committee amendment (1-title)
Apr 11-received in House; posted for passage for concurrence in Senate committee amendment (1-title) ; House concurred in Senate committee amendment (1-title) ; passed 99-0; enrolled, signed by each presiding officer; delivered to Governor
Apr 22-signed by Governor (Acts ch. 233)