HB 565 (BR 1705) - J. Gooch Jr, R. Crimm, R. Rand
AN ACT relating to basic reparation benefits.
Amend KRS 304.39-210, pertaining to no fault motor vehicle insurance, to require the provider of medical services to submit the statement for services within 45 days of the day the treatment is initiated and every 45 days thereafter; prohibit the charging of fees for medical expenses in excess of the limitations of the Kentucky workers' compensation fee schedule as set forth in KRS 342.035 and in administrative regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
HB 565 - AMENDMENTS
HCA (1, J. Gooch Jr) - Prohibit a provider of medical services under the no-fault motor vehicle insurance law from knowingly collecting, coercing, or attempting to coerce the payment of any charge for services or treatment covered by a basic reparation obligor in excess of the schedule of fees provided by this section or from causing the credit of any insured to be impaired by reason of the insured's failure or refusal to pay the excess charge.
HFA (1, D. Butler) - Prohibit health care providers from charging more than two and one-half times the limitations of the Kentucky workers' compensation fee schedule; increase basic reparation fee from $10,000 to $25,000; increase minimum mandatory auto insurance coverage from $25,000 to $50,000 for bodily injuries sustained by one person in one accident and from $50,000 to $100,000 for bodily injuries to all persons from one accident; increase wage loss payment from $200 to $500 per week.
Feb 13-introduced in House
Feb 14-to Banking and Insurance (H)
Feb 16-posted in committee
Feb 22-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar with committee amendment (1)
Feb 23-2nd reading, to Rules; posted for passage in the Regular Orders of the Day for Friday, February 24, 2006
Feb 27-floor amendment (1) filed
Mar 13-taken from the Regular Orders of the Day; recommitted to Banking and Insurance (H)