HB 517 (BR 1386) - F. Nesler
AN ACT relating to estheticians.
Establish KRS Chapter 317B and create new sections of that chapter to establish licensure criteria for estheticians, instructors of esthetic practice, and esthetic salons; define esthetician, esthetic practice, and esthetic salon; prohibit estheticians from performing specific procedures; authorize the Kentucky Board of Hairdressers and Cosmetologists to oversee the issuance of esthetician licenses and to promulgate administrative regulations to determine qualifications of applicants and to adjust license, renewal, and restoration fees for estheticians, instructors, and salons; set an initial licensure fee for estheticians at $75 and for an esthetic salon at $125; require owner of esthetic salon to employ a licensed esthetician if owner is not licensed; allow cosmetologists to apply for a dual cosmetology and esthetician license and maintain the option of individual licenses for each profession; require an examination for licensure and a quorum of the board present to supervise; provide examinations in the principal board office or board-approved location; require continuing education for license renewal; allow licensure reciprocity with other states that have comparable standards if those states offer reciprocity to estheticians licensed in Kentucky; allow the board to impose sanctions that include fines, imprisonment, or both for specified violations.
HB 517 - AMENDMENTS
HCS - Retain original provisions of bill, except delete "microdermabrasion" from list of procedures estheticians shall not perform.
HFA (1, F. Nesler) - Amend HB 517/HCS to exclude from the definition of esthetic practices work performed without compensation from the person receiving the service and work performed by a licensed massage therapist.
SCS - Retain original provisions of bill, except include microdermabrasion in the list of procedures that licensed estheticians shall not be able to do.
Feb 18-introduced in House
Feb 19-to Licensing and Occupations (H)
Feb 21-posted in committee
Feb 26-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar with Committee Substitute
Feb 27-2nd reading, to Rules; posted for passage in the Regular Orders of the Day for Friday, February 28, 2003; floor amendment (1) filed to Committee Substitute
Feb 28-3rd reading, passed 81-9 with Committee Substitute, floor amendment (1)
Mar 3-received in Senate; to Licensing, Occupations & Administrative Regulations (S)
Mar 4-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Consent Calendar with Committee Substitute
Mar 5-2nd reading, to Rules
Mar 11-posted for passage in the Consent Orders of the Day for Tuesday, March 11, 2003; 3rd reading, passed 38-0 with Committee Substitute ; received in House; posted for passage for concurrence in Senate Committee Substitute ; House concurred in Senate Committee Substitute ; passed 62-19; enrolled, signed by each presiding officer; delivered to Governor
Mar 18-signed by Governor (Acts ch. 137)