03RS HB345


WWW Version

HB 345/LM (BR 1092) - K. Stein, M. Marzian

     AN ACT relating to traffic regulations
     Amend KRS 189.515, relating to traffic regulations for all-terrain vehicles (ATV), to require a person to be 16 years of age or older before the person is permitted to operate an all-terrain vehicle; prohibit passengers on ATV's; prohibit ATV's from operating on any public highway or the right-of-way of any public highway; require persons to complete a safe rider course before operating an ATV and to carry proof of the safe rider course at all times the person is operating an ATV; and require all persons to wear a helmet when operating an ATV; amend KRS 189.990, relating to penalties for violating traffic regulations, to raise the fine for violating provisions governing ATV's from a fine of not less than $20 to not more than $50 to a fine of $500; provide that, in addition to the $500 fine, a person's instruction permit or driver's license shall be suspended for 6 months for violating provisions governing ATV's; provide that if the person has an instruction permit or operator's license issued by another state, the Transportation Cabinet shall suspend the person's driving privileges in Kentucky for 6 months and notify the appropriate licensing jurisdiction of the suspension.

     Feb 5-introduced in House
     Feb 6-to Transportation (H)
     Feb 18-posted in committee

Kentucky Legislature Home Page | Record Front Page