03RS HB292


WWW Version

HB 292 (BR 1353) - T. Burch, P. Bather

     AN ACT relating to graduated driver's licenses for teenagers.
     Amend and create various sections of KRS Chapter 186 to expand the graduated driver's license program for young drivers under 18 years of age to three levels; establish requirements for an intermediate license to operate a motor vehicle for persons 16 to 18 years old.


     HCS - Retain the provisions of the original bill with the following changes: in Section 1(5) add references to KRS Chapters 186, 189, or 189A for violations for which an additional 180 days will be added before a person may apply for an intermediate license; in Section 2(1) clarify a person must be 16 1/2 to apply for an intermediate license, delete provision a person apply for an intermediate license in the county clerk's office, and in subsection (2) require the sticker be affixed to an instruction permit by the Kentucky State Police; in Section 3(3) require the nighttime driving experience to be supervised and that when operating a vehicle at night the intermediate license holder must be accompanied by a person at least 21 years of age who holds a valid driver's license; add a new Section 8 to amend KRS 189.990 to make a conforming change.

     Feb 4-introduced in House
     Feb 5-to Transportation (H)
     Feb 11-posted in committee
     Feb 13-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar with Committee Substitute
     Feb 14-2nd reading, to Rules
     Feb 19-posted for passage in the Regular Orders of the Day for Thursday, February 20, 2003
     Feb 21-3rd reading, passed 65-26 with Committee Substitute
     Feb 24-received in Senate
     Feb 27-to Transportation (S)

Kentucky Legislature Home Page | Record Front Page