98RS SB285


Unofficial WWW Version

SB 285 (BR 1861) - D. Nunnelley

     AN ACT relating to athletic trainers.
     Amend various sections of KRS 311.900 to 311.928, relating to requirements and procedures for the certification of athletic trainers, to change definition of athletic trainer to person who acts on the advice of licensed physician instead of team physician; delete requirement that injuries treated must be incurred at an education or athletic event; change setting of fees from $25.00 to reasonable fees; change minimum of supervised hours from 1,500 to 1,800 of which 1,300 hours must be earned in an approved athletic setting; change time limit for completing hours from 4 to 6 years; delete time limit exception for military duty; change educational requirements by deleting nutrition course and changing titles of other courses; require documentation of internship hours; delete examination requirement of trainers holding a license from another state if that state recognizes the Commonwealth of Kentucky's certificates; delete requirement for educational course of the type specified in KRS 311.908; add new rules for refusal to issue license and disciplinary proceedings that allow probation of license or $5,000 fine, give the board power to issue subpoenas, seize evidence, and require the production of other evidence to investigate allegations; require the board to respect the privacy of those not charged; allow the board to restrain and enjoin violations of KRS 311.900 to 311.928; exempt board from payment of costs, filing fees, or bonds in connection; change procedures for an appeals hearing to conform with KRS 13B.010 to 13B.140; change appeals hearing to Circuit Court to conform with KRS 13B.140 and 13B.150.

     Feb 9-introduced in Senate
     Feb 10-to Education (S)

Kentucky Legislature Home Page | Record Front Page