Kentucky Constitution
Section 109

The judicial power -- Unified system -- Impeachment.

The judicial power of the Commonwealth shall be vested exclusively in one Court of Justice which shall be divided into a Supreme Court, a Court of Appeals, a trial court of general jurisdiction known as the Circuit Court and a trial court of limited jurisdiction known as the District Court. The court shall constitute a unified judicial system for operation and administration. The impeachment powers of the General Assembly shall remain inviolate.

Text as Ratified on: November 4, 1975, effective January 1, 1976.
History: Repeal and reenactment proposed by 1974 Ky. Acts ch. 84, sec. 1; original version ratified August 3, 1891, and revised September 28, 1891.

previous section | next section

List of Constitution Sections | Constitution by Topic | Legislature Home Page