201 KAR 40:050. Application for license for commercial driver license training school.

 

      RELATES TO: KRS 165A.330(1), 165A.370, 165A.450, 165A.465, 165A.470, 165A.475, 165A.480(1)

      STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 165A.340(3), 165A.460-165A.515

      NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 165A.460-165A.515 requires that the State Board for Proprietary Education establish an application procedure for commercial driver license training schools. This administrative regulation establishes the application procedures for commercial driver license training schools.

 

      Section 1. Application for Kentucky Resident Commercial Driver License Training School. (1) Prior to establishment of a commercial driver license training school residing in Kentucky, the school owner shall:

      (a) Complete and submit to the board Form PE 30, Application for Resident Commercial Driver License Training School, with supporting documentation as listed on the form;

      (b) Pay the nonrefundable application fee of $200 established in KRS 165A.475(2);

      (c) Pay the nonrefundable initial licensure fee of $100;

      (d) Pay the nonrefundable contribution to the Student Protection Fund of $300; and

      (e) Meet the requirements of Section 3 of this administrative regulation.

      (2) All fees shall be submitted by certified check or money order payable to the "Kentucky State Treasurer".

 

      Section 2. Application for Non-Kentucky Resident Commercial Driver License Training School. (1) Prior to establishment of a commercial driver license training school not residing in Kentucky but recruiting, advertising, or otherwise doing business in Kentucky, the school's owner shall:

      (a) Complete and submit to the board Form PE 31, Application for Non-Resident Commercial Driver License Training School with supporting documentation as listed on the form;

      (b) Pay the nonrefundable application fee of $200 established in KRS 165A.475(2);

      (c) Pay the nonrefundable initial licensure fee of $700;

      (d) Pay the nonrefundable contribution to the Student Protection Fund of $900;

      (e) Meet the requirements of Section 3 of this administrative regulation.

      (2) All fees shall be submitted by certified check or money order payable to the "Kentucky State Treasurer".

 

      Section 3. Evidence of Liability Insurance Coverage. Each application to operate a commercial driver license training school shall be accompanied by:

      (1) Verification of liability insurance coverage for the commercial driver license training school from a Kentucky-licensed insurance carrier, as mandated by KRS 165A.475(1)(d);

      (2) Verification of liability insurance coverage from the school's insurance carrier shall include on the policy complete listing of all equipment, serial numbers, vehicle identification numbers covered by the liability insurance with subsequent liability insurance coverage changes filed with the board in writing within thirty (30) days of the subsequent change.

 

      Section 4. Incorporation by Reference. (1) The following material is incorporated by reference:

      (a) Form PE 30 "Application for Resident Commercial Driver License Training School", October 2010 edition; and

      (b) Form PE 31 "Application for Non-resident Commercial Driver License Training School", October 2010 edition.

      (2) This material may be inspected, copied, or obtained, subject to applicable copyright law, at the State Board for Proprietary Education, 911 Leawood Drive, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (30 Ky.R. 135; Am. 580; eff. 9-8-2003; 37 Ky.R.786; 1186; eff. 11-16-2010.)