RELATES TO: KRS 218A.205, 311.450
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 218A.202(2), 311.410(4)
NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 311.450 requires the board to send notices to all podiatrists licensed by the board to their last known address on or before June 1 of each year. KRS 218A.202(2) requires licensees that prescribe controlled substances to be registered with the Kentucky All-Schedule Prescription Electronic Reporting System (KASPER). KRS 218A.205 requires the board to place restrictions on licensees and applicants that have specific convictions or restrictions related to prescribing or dispensing controlled substances. This administrative regulation requires all licensed podiatrists to complete the annual renewal notice and return it, along with the annual renewal fee to the board. This administrative regulation further establishes an annual license renewal fee and a delinquent penalty fee.
Section 1. (1) The annual renewal fee, in the amount of $150 shall be attached to the completed annual renewal notice when the notice is returned to the board by the podiatrist seeking licensure renewal.
(2) The annual renewal fee shall be made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer in United States currency by certified check, cashier's check, postal money order, personal check, or credit card.
(3) All information requested on the annual renewal notice form shall be furnished to the board when the completed annual renewal notice form is returned to the board, together with a statement of compliance with the continuing education administrative regulations of the board.
(4) Every renewal application shall include proof of current registration with the Kentucky All-Schedule Prescription Electronic Reporting System (KASPER) administered by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services.
Section 2. (1) Failure to complete the requirements for annual renewal of the license by July 1 of each year shall result in a delinquent penalty fee of $100.
(2) A licensee shall immediately report to the board any conviction or disciplinary action on a license held by the applicant relating to prescribing or dispensing controlled substances.
Section 3. (1) Pursuant to KRS 218A.205(3)(e), a licensee:
(a) Convicted after July 20, 2012 of any felony offense relating to controlled substances shall be permanently banned from prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance by the board;
(b) Convicted after July 20, 2012 of any misdemeanor offense relating to prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance shall have his or her authority to prescribe controlled substances suspended for at least three (3) months, and shall be further restricted as determined by the board; or
(c) Who has had any disciplinary limitation placed on a application or license by a licensing board of another state that resulted from improper, inappropriate, or illegal prescribing or dispensing of controlled substances shall be subject to a restriction on the license that is at least as restrictive in time and scope as that placed on the license by the licensing board of the other state.
(2) In addition to the actions listed in subsection (1) of this section, the board may take additional disciplinary action against a licensee pursuant to KRS 311.480. (4 Ky.R. 466; eff. 7-5-78; Am. 7 Ky.R. 780; eff. 5-6-81; 11 Ky.R. 1449; eff. 5-14-85; 14 Ky.R. 2036; eff. 7-1-88; 20 Ky.R. 2659; eff. 5-18-94; 39 Ky.R. 546; eff. 2-1-2013.)