201 KAR 21:060. Clinics; offices.
RELATES TO: KRS 312.019
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 312.019
NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 312.019(5) provides that the board shall regulate the practice of chiropractic by persons licensed or certified by it. KRS 312.019(9)(d) provides that the board may adopt administrative regulations pertaining to the operations and registration of chiropractic clinics. This administrative regulation establishes professional standards for chiropractic offices and chiropractic clinics.
Section 1. (1) A licensee shall maintain a chiropractic office in which he receives, diagnoses and treats his patients and maintains their records. Any number of licensees may jointly maintain a chiropractic office.
(2) A chiropractic office shall include:
(a) A reception room;
(b) A restroom with a toilet and washing facilities; and
(c) A treatment room containing equipment ordinarily necessary to provide chiropractic services.
Section 2. (1) Two (2) or more licensees may operate a chiropractic clinic to render services requiring specialized skills, knowledge and educational training on the part of the chiropractic clinician and specialized physical facilities not ordinarily possessed by a chiropractor operating a chiropractic office.
(2) A chiropractic clinic shall include:
(a) A reception area;
(b) A treatment room containing equipment necessary to render chiropractic services;
(c) Toilet and washing facilities;
(d) Facilities and equipment necessary to augment adjustments;
(e) Diagnostic x-ray equipment; and
(f) A chiropractic laboratory or reasonably convenient access to the use of a chiropractic laboratory.
(3) A chiropractic clinic shall employ at least one (1) person who shall be a certified radiation operator.
(4) A licensed chiropractor shall be available at the clinic or on call and readily available at all times to render chiropractic services.
(5) A chiropractic clinic shall be certified by the board. Applications for certification shall be made to the board on forms provided by the board which shall be designed to obtain information pertaining to the personnel, facilities, equipment and services to be available at the clinic.
(6)(a) The initial application fee for certification of a chiropractic clinic shall be $250.
(b) The annual renewal fee for a certified chiropractic clinic shall be $100.
Section 3. Incorporation by Reference. (1) "Application for Certification of a Chiropractic Clinic", (2006) is incorporated by reference.
(2) This material may be inspected, copied, or obtained, subject to applicable copyright law, at the Kentucky Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 209 South Green Street, Glasgow, Kentucky 42142 Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (6 Ky.R. 168; eff. 10-3-1979; 34 Ky.R. 619; 1390; eff. 12-17-2007.)