
186A.115 Inspection of motor vehicles and documents by certified inspector
--  Fee  for  certification  of  inspection  --  Reciprocity  between  counties  --
Exceptions -- Inspection of historic vehicles.

(1) Except  as  otherwise  provided  in  this  section,  the  owner  of  every  vehicle
brought  into  this  state  and  required  to  be  titled  in  this  state  shall,  before
submitting his application for title to the county clerk, have the vehicle together
with  his  application  for  title  and  its  supporting  documents  inspected  by  a
certified  inspector  in  the  county  in  which  the  application  for  title  is  to  be
submitted to the county clerk.
(a) The  certified  inspector  shall  be  certified  through  the  Department  of

Vehicle Regulation following requirements set forth by the department by
regulation  and  shall  be  designated  by  the  county  sheriff.  The  certified
inspector will be held responsible for all certifications required pursuant to
this chapter and will  be liable for any and all  penalties prescribed in this
chapter,  and shall  be available during regular office hours at any and all
offices and branches that issue applications for titles.

(b) There  shall  be  a  five  dollar  ($5)  fee  for  this  certification,  payable  to  the
sheriff's office, upon completion of certification.

(c) There  shall  be  an  additional  fee  of  ten  dollars  ($10)  per  trip  when  it
becomes necessary  for  the  certified  inspector  to  travel  to  the  site  of  the
vehicle rather than bringing the vehicle to the sheriff's inspection area.

(d) An inspection  conducted  in  one (1)  county  within  the  Commonwealth  of
Kentucky  under  this  subsection,  and  the  fees  paid  for  that  inspection
under this subsection, shall be honored by the certified inspector, sheriff,
and  county  clerk  in  all  other  counties  within  this  state.  A  second
inspection shall not be required and additional fees shall not be required.

(2) The  following  vehicles  are  excluded  from  the  requirement  of  inspection  by  a
certified inspector prior to titling in this state:
(a) New motor vehicles sold by a dealer licensed in this state;
(b) Vehicles  required  to  be  registered  in  this  state  by  reason  of  lack  of  a

reciprocity  agreement  with  another  state  and  for  which  a  nonnegotiable
registration document is to be issued;

(c) Motor  vehicles  operated  by  a  motor  carrier  under  a  nonnegotiable
certificate or permit issued by the Department of Vehicle Regulation;

(d) Motor vehicles owned by servicemen or servicewomen who are residents
of Kentucky stationed outside of Kentucky may be inspected by the post
provost or similar officer of the camp, post, or station. The post provost or
similar officer shall submit an affidavit stating the name of the owner, the
identification  or  serial  number,  the  make,  body  style,  current  license  or
title number, if any, and state in which currently registered or titled, if any,
of the motor vehicle;

(e) Motor vehicles purchased in another state by persons who are residents
of Kentucky but are temporarily residing out of state for at least thirty (30)
days, but not longer than nine (9) months, may after the purchase of the
vehicle be inspected by the state police, a local law enforcement agency,
or  the  vehicle  inspection  program  of  another  state.  If  an  inspector  in



another  state  examines  a  vehicle  under  this  paragraph,  the  purchaser
may request the inspector to complete an affidavit stating the name of the
owner, the vehicle identification number, the vehicle make and body style,
the current state of registration, if  any, and the current vehicle license or
title  number,  if  any.  The  Transportation  Cabinet  shall  create  an  affidavit
form containing at a minimum this information and shall post the form on
the  cabinet's  Internet  Web  site.  A  person  using  an  inspector  in  another
state  under  this  paragraph  shall  comply  with  all  requirements  of  that
state's  inspection  program,  including  payment  of  fees  charged  in  that
state.  A  person registering  a  motor  vehicle  for  the  first  time in  Kentucky
under  this  paragraph  shall  transmit  the  application  for  registration,  all
supporting documentation, and payment for registration and usage tax to
the  county  clerk  of  the  county  in  which  the  person  resides,  and  upon
receipt  of  the  appropriate  documentation,  the  county  clerk  shall  register
the vehicle; and

(f) Motor vehicles no longer located in Kentucky but which require inspection
in  order  to  issue  a  corrected  Kentucky  title  due  to  error  in  vehicle
identification  or  serial  number  may  be  inspected  by  an  inspector
authorized to inspect vehicle identification or serial number by the laws of
the  state  or  foreign  country  where  application  for  a  new  title  has  been
submitted.

(3) When presented to a certified inspector for inspection or to a county clerk for
processing, the owner's application for a first certificate of registration or title in
his name shall be accompanied by proof of insurance in compliance with KRS
304.39-080 and one (1) of the following documents as applicable:
(a) If  the vehicle is a new vehicle not previously registered in this state, the

properly  assigned  manufacturer's  statement  of  origin  for  the  vehicle  for
which registration or title is sought;

(b) If the vehicle was last registered in this state, and is a vehicle for which a
title  is  not  required  in  this  state,  a  certificate  of  registration,  or  if  the
vehicle  is  one  for  which  a  certificate  of  title  is  required  in  this  state,  a
properly assigned certificate of title;

(c) If  the  vehicle  was  last  previously  titled  in  another  state,  a  properly
assigned certificate of title;

(d) If  the  application  refers  to  a  vehicle  previously  registered  in  another
country,  the  documents  of  that  country  establishing  ownership  of  the
vehicle;

(e) If  the application refers to a vehicle last  previously registered in another
country  by  a  person  on  active  duty  in  the  Armed  Forces  of  the  United
States,  the  county  clerk  may  accept  on  behalf  of  the  Department  of
Vehicle  Regulation  evidence  of  ownership  provided  the  applicant  by  the
United States Department of Defense; and

(f) Except  as  provided  in  KRS  186A.072(2)(c)  governing  custom-built
motorcycles,  if  the  application  relates  to  a  vehicle  which  has  been
specially  constructed  or  reconstructed,  that  fact  shall  be  stated  in  the
application,  and the application shall  be accompanied by the documents
specified  by  administrative  regulations  of  the  Department  of  Vehicle



Regulation.
(4) When  requested  to  inspect  a  vehicle  pursuant  to  this  section,  the  certified

inspector shall personally and physically inspect the vehicle, when registration
or title is sought in this state, on the following points:
(a) He  shall  ensure  that  the  application  is  legible  and  properly  executed  to

the extent required at the time of execution;
(b) He shall compare the vehicle identification number as appearing on both

the  vehicle  identification  number  plate,  and  the  federal  safety  standards
label  of  the  vehicle  which  is  sought  to  be  registered  or  titled,  with  the
corresponding  number  inscribed  on  the  application,  and  its  supporting
documentation,  and  ensure  that  the  vehicle  identification  number
appearing at each described location appears legitimate and that they are
consistent with each other;

(c) He shall examine the primary odometer of the vehicle and legibly record
the  reading  in  the  space  provided  in  the  inspection  section  of  the
application; and

(d) After  exercising  due  diligence  in  inspecting  the  vehicle,  the  application,
and  its  supporting  documentation,  and  finding  that  they  appear  to  be  in
order,  the  certified  inspector  shall  execute  the  preprinted  certificate  of
inspection  according  to  its  terms  by  printing  in  the  spaces  provided  his
first  name,  middle  initial,  and  last  name,  and  his  title;  the  name  of  the
county  in  which  he  serves;  and  the  telephone  number  including  the
telephone  area  code  of  his  agency,  and  sign  in  ink  his  signature  in  the
space  provided,  and  print  the  month,  day,  and  year  in  which  his
inspection  was  made,  certifying  under  penalty  of  forgery  in  the  second
degree the character, accuracy, and date of his inspection.

(5) The certified inspector shall refrain from executing the certificate of inspection
if:
(a) He has not personally and physically inspected the vehicle in accordance

with this section;
(b) He has  reason to  believe  that  the  vehicle  displays  an  unlawfully  altered

vehicle identification number;
(c) The application and any of its copies are illegible or otherwise improperly

executed, or contain information reasonably believed to be inaccurate or
fraudulent;

(d) The documentation required in support of any application is not present,
or not consistent with the vehicle and the owner's application or appears
fraudulent; or

(e) He has probable cause to believe the vehicle is stolen.
(6) (a) Inspections  on  motor  vehicles  that  meet  the  definition  of  a  "historic

vehicle"  under  KRS  186.043(2)  and  are  brought  into  this  state  shall  be
limited to  verification of  the vehicle  identification number  with  supporting
documentation for purposes of titling.

(b) Inspections on motor vehicles that meet the definition of a classic motor
vehicle project as set forth in KRS 186A.510 shall be limited to verification
of  the  vehicle  identification  number  with  supporting  documentation  for



purposes of issuing a classic motor vehicle project certificate of title under
KRS 186A.535(1).

Effective:July 15, 2008
History: Amended  2008  Ky.  Acts  ch. 157,  sec. 3,  effective  July  15,  2008.  --

Amended  2007  Ky.  Acts  ch. 135,  sec. 2,  effective  June  26,  2007.  --  Amended
2003 Ky. Acts ch. 97, sec. 1, effective June 24, 2003. -- Amended 2002 Ky. Acts
ch. 298,  sec. 3,  effective  July  15,  2002.  --  Amended  1996  Ky.  Acts  ch. 35,
sec. 2,  effective  July  15,  1996;  and  ch. 248,  sec. 4,  effective  July  15,  1996.  --
Amended  1994  Ky.  Acts  ch. 504,  sec. 3,  effective  July  15,  1994.  --  Amended
1986 Ky. Acts ch. 319, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1986. -- Created 1982 Ky. Acts
ch. 164, sec. 20, effective July 15, 1982.


