
227A.060   Qualifications for licensure. 

(1) The department shall issue a license as an "electrical contractor" to an applicant 

who meets the following requirements: 

(a) Has paid to the department the application fee not to exceed two hundred 

dollars ($200) and the appropriate examination fee, which shall not exceed the 

actual cost of examination; 

(b) Has achieved a passing score, as set by the department, on all portions of the 

examination required by the department. The department shall promulgate 

administrative regulations to specify who shall take the examination if the 

applicant is a business entity; and 

(c) Has submitted proof that he or she has complied with workers' compensation 

and unemployment insurance laws and administrative regulations and has 

obtained a general liability insurance policy of not less than five hundred 

thousand dollars ($500,000). 

(2) The department shall issue a license as a "master electrician" to an applicant who 

meets the following requirements: 

(a) Has paid to the department the application fee not to exceed one hundred 

dollars ($100) and the appropriate examination fee not to exceed the actual 

cost of the examination; 

(b) Has completed: 

1. a. Six (6) years of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since 

his or her sixteenth birthday; and 

b. A training course in electrical work, acceptable to the department, 

or an additional two (2) years of verifiable experience in the 

electrical trade; or 

2. a. Five (5) years of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since 

his or her sixteenth birthday; and 

b. An associate's degree or diploma program in electrical technology 

at a college within the Kentucky Community and Technical 

College System after 1998; and 

(c) Has achieved a passing score, as set by the department, on all portions of the 

examination required by the department. 

(3) The department shall issue a license as an "electrician" to an applicant who meets 

the following requirements: 

(a) Has paid to the department the application fee not to exceed fifty dollars ($50) 

and the appropriate examination fee not to exceed the actual cost of the 

examination; 

(b) Has completed: 

1. a. Four (4) years of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since 

his or her sixteenth birthday; and 

b. A training course in electrical work, acceptable to the department, 



or an additional two (2) years of verifiable experience in the 

electrical trade; or 

2. a. Three (3) years of verifiable experience in the electrical trade since 

his or her sixteenth birthday; and 

b. An associate's degree or diploma program in electrical technology 

at a college within the Kentucky Community and Technical 

College System after 1998; and 

(c) Has achieved a passing score, as set by the department, on all portions of the 

examination required by the department. 

Effective: June 8, 2011 

History: Amended 2011 Ky. Acts ch. 74, sec. 19, effective June 8, 2011. -- Amended 

2010 Ky. Acts ch. 24, sec. 433, effective July 15, 2010. -- Amended 2009 Ky. Acts 

ch. 6, sec. 1, effective June 25, 2009. -- Created 2003 Ky. Acts ch. 119, sec. 6, 

effective June 24, 2003. 


