HB 128 (BR 868) - R. Damron, R. Bunch, H. Collins, T. Couch, W. Coursey, C. Embry Jr., J. Greer, K. Hall, R. Heath, R. Henderson, T. Kerr, M. King, S. Lee, B. Linder, D. Osborne, B. Rowland, S. Rudy, S. Santoro, F. Steele, B. Waide, A. Wuchner
AN ACT relating to concealed deadly weapons.
Amend KRS 527.020, relating to carrying a concealed deadly weapon, to permit a retired peace officer who has a concealed deadly weapon license issued pursuant to the federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act and KRS 237.138 to 237.142 to carry a concealed deadly weapon at all times at any location within the state except for a detention facility.
HB 128 - AMENDMENTS
SCS/LM - Retain original provisions; amend KRS 16.220 to make special law enforcement officers employed by school districts eligible for certain Kentucky Office of Homeland Security grants; create a new section of KRS Chapter 237 to specify the conditions under which the chief of a local law enforcement agency certifies a transfer of items under the National Firearms Act; create a new section of KRS 403.715 to 403.785 to allow a person protected by an emergency protective order or a domestic violence order to apply for a temporary permit to carry a concealed deadly weapon; provide a process by which a temporary permit can become a concealed carry license if firearms safety training is completed within 45 days; amend KRS 237.110 to allow honorably discharged service members to waive the training requirement for a concealed deadly weapon license with certain documentation; allow new residents in Kentucky who have valid concealed carry licenses from other states that have a reciprocity agreement with the Department of Kentucky State Police to waive the training requirements for Kentucky licenses and to use the out-of-state license in Kentucky for their first 120 days of residence, providing that within 60 days of the resident moving to the state of Kentucky, he or she delivers a form and accompanying documents by registered or certified mail, return receipt, to the Department of Kentucky State Police evidencing proof of a valid out of state license to carry a concealed deadly weapon; provide that an out-of-state concealed carry license will become invalid in Kentucky upon either the passage of 120 days or issuance to the person of Kentucky concealed deadly weapon pursuant to this section; allow both paper and electronic applications and renewals for concealed carry licenses; establish a $70 application fee and a $25 fee for duplicate licenses requested electronically; change the period for State Police to either issue or deny a license from 60 days for paper applications to 15 business days for electronic applications; change the number of requests made to other states for license reciprocity from twice per year to once per year; APPROPRIATION.
SCA (1/Title, J. Higdon) - Make title amendment.
Jan 7-introduced in House
Jan 8-to Judiciary (H)
Mar 10-posted in committee
Mar 12-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar
Mar 13-2nd reading, to Rules; taken from Rules; placed in the Orders of the Day
Mar 17-3rd reading, passed 88-2
Mar 18-received in Senate
Mar 19-to Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Protection (S)
Mar 24-taken from Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Protection (S); 1st reading; returned to Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Protection (S)
Mar 25-taken from Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Protection (S); 2nd reading; returned to Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Protection (S)
Mar 26-reported favorably, to Rules with Committee Substitute, committee amendment (1-title) as a Consent Bill
Mar 27-posted for passage in the Consent Orders of the Day for Thursday, March 27, 2014; 3rd reading, passed 37-1-0 with Committee Substitute, committee amendment (1-title)
Mar 28-received in House; to Rules (H)
Mar 31-posted for passage for concurrence in Senate Committee Substitute, committee amendment (1-title) for Monday, March 31, 2014; House concurred in Senate Committee Substitute, committee amendment (1-title) ; passed 92-6; enrolled, signed by each presiding officer; delivered to Governor; signed by Governor (Acts, ch. 120)