Kentucky Constitution
Section 142

Justices' districts -- One Justice for each district -- Jurisdiction and powers of Justices -- Commissions -- Removal.

Each county now existing, or which may hereafter be created, in this State, shall be laid off into districts in such manner as the General Assembly may direct; but no county shall have less than three nor more than eight districts, in each of which districts one Justice of the Peace shall be elected as provided in Section 99. The General Assembly shall make provisions for regulating the number of said districts from time to time within the limits herein prescribed, and for fixing the boundaries thereof. The jurisdiction of Justices of the Peace shall be coextensive with the county, and shall be equal and uniform throughout the State. Justices of the Peace shall be conservators of the peace. They shall be commissioned by the Governor, and shall vacate their offices by removal from the districts, respectively, in which they may have been elected.

Text as Ratified on: August 3, 1891, and revised September 28, 1891.
History: Not yet amended.

previous section | next section

List of Constitution Sections | Constitution by Topic | Legislature Home Page