Kentucky Constitution
Section 99

County officers, justices of the peace, and constables -- Election -- Term.

At the regular election in nineteen hundred and ninety-eight and every four years thereafter, there shall be elected in each county a Judge of the County Court, a County Court Clerk, a County Attorney, Sheriff, Jailer, Coroner, Surveyor and Assessor, and in each Justice's District one Justice of the Peace and one Constable, who shall enter upon the discharge of the duties of their offices on the first Monday in January after their election, and who shall hold their offices four years until the election and qualification of their successors.

Text as Ratified on: November 3, 1992.
History: 1992 amendment was proposed by 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 168, sec. 15; 1984 amendment was proposed by 1984 Ky. Acts ch. 35, sec. 1, and ratified November 6, 1984; original version ratified August 3, 1891, and revised September 28, 1891.

previous section | next section

List of Constitution Sections | Constitution by Topic | Legislature Home Page